“DO NOT REQUEST OTHERS TO DO A JOB, IF YOU ARE NOT FULLY COMPETENT ABOUT IT”

untitled-7

I would like give you a picture regarding the conferences which I attended on 26th April. 2009 at the HNB Tower, Colombo Sri Lanka. I just thought of recording because they were very important and would help me to revert back to the learning which I got at that point.

At the yesterday’s conference three Sri Lankan top professionals made very useful presentations. The first one was given by Mr. Theagarajah, CEO of Hatton National Bank Sri Lanka, the next was from Mr. Dilshan Rodrigo, the Head of Risk Management, Hatton National Bank, and the final one was by Mr. M.P. Jazeel, the Head of Treasury Management.

The conference topics were not familiar to me because I’m more in the marketing field and having less knowledge on Finance but anyway the morning session helped me to understand some important aspects such as the global crisis and the implication of it in Sri Lanka, Professionalism and ethics and treasury management.

The speech delivered by Mr. Theagarajah was interesting and his experience spoke a lot. Each and every point seemed very useful and interesting. I got impressed by the following words which was said by him – “Do not request others to do a job, if you are not fully competent about it” .What he said was really true and he also mentioned if you doesn’t know one thing do not hesitate to ask from your junior, juniors are the best teachers. Anyway I wanted to thank ACCA for inviting him to be a key speaker.

The second conference conducted by Mr.Dilshan was also fine and which gave me an opportunity to learn the full finance aspects with regard to the global crisis. Although the final topic did not impress me but it would have been useful to people who are interested in that subject.

On the whole I would like to say that my first half of Sunday was spent usefully.

2 responses to ““DO NOT REQUEST OTHERS TO DO A JOB, IF YOU ARE NOT FULLY COMPETENT ABOUT IT”

Leave a Reply

